Date on Master's Thesis/Doctoral Dissertation

5-2016

Document Type

Master's Thesis

Degree Name

M.A.

Department

English

Degree Program

English, MA

Committee Chair

Biberman, Matthew

Committee Co-Chair (if applicable)

Stansel, Ian

Committee Member

Stansel, Ian

Committee Member

Williams, Michael

Author's Keywords

Fiction; Creative Writing; Parody; Cultural Criticism; Cultural Studies; Media Studies

Abstract

This thesis is the first two chapters of a novel. The novel parodies the capitalist and consumerist United States of the 21st Century in the tradition of Thomas Pynchon, Kurt Vonnegut, and Donald Barthelme.