Date on Master's Thesis/Doctoral Dissertation


Document Type

Master's Thesis

Degree Name



Music Composition

Degree Program

Music with a concentration in Music Composition, MM

Committee Chair

Satterwhite, Marc

Committee Co-Chair (if applicable)

Rouse, Steve

Committee Member

Rouse, Steve

Committee Member

Speck, Fred

Author's Keywords

Winter; symphony; orchestra


Winter Suite is a continuation of a larger piece entitled Four Seasons Suite. Four Seasons Suite consists of four movements representing each season: “Winter Suite,” “Spring Suite,” “Summer Suite,” and “Fall Suite.” Four sub-movements constitute each seasonal movement. So, Four Seasons Suite has four movements and sixteen sub-movements. Each movement is designed to be performable as a standalone piece but it is also acceptable to perform all of them during the same concert. Winter Suite takes its inspiration from images of the titular season and seeks to emulate various aspects of winter such as snowfall, blizzards, and ice along with the jubilation that some people experience when the landscape becomes a winter wonderland.

Included in

Composition Commons